Town of Dover Police Department

37 North Sussex Street
Dover, New Jersey 07801

The Town of Dover Police Department (Morris County) is currently accepting application for the position of Police Officer:

The Town of Dover Police Department is a NJDOP (Civil Service) Department. We are currently looking for officers that are listed on the New Jersey Rice list or through the NJ Civil Service Interdepartmental Transfer Program only. Intergovernmental transfers from other civil service departments require the approval of the Chief of Police/Sheriff of the agency in which the officer is currently employed. Minimally, one year of police experience is required. Applications from Non PTC Certified Officers will not be accepted.

Interested candidates should contact:

Town of Dover Police Department 37 N. Sussex St Dover, NJ 07801

ATTN: Lt. Frank Coppinger 973-366-2200 Ext 4137,

Lt. Barry Young 973-366-2200 Ext 4144,

Dispatch Center Voice 973-366-0302     Dispatch Center Fax  973-366-1813
Emergency: 911

The officers of the Town of Dover Police Department support the members of the United States Military engaged in combat operations around the world.  We Pray for their safe return home

Dover Police Department Mission Statement

The mission of the Town of Dover Police Department is to consistently seek and find ways to affirmatively promote, preserve and deliver a feeling of security, safety and quality service to each and every member of our community.  

General Information:

The Town of Dover is located between Route 10 and Route 80 in Morris County New Jersey.  Dover is approximately 2 square miles in size with an estimated population of 20,000.  The Town of Dover Police Department responds to approximately 20,000 calls for service each year. The Town of Dover Police Department has 29 sworn police officers, one civilian clerk, and records personnel. The department has numerous part time employees such as special police officers crossing guards and parking enforcement officers.

Harold P. Valentine is the Chief of Police a member of the police department since 1982.  The police department is comprised of two separate functions or bureaus, Patrol and Investigative.  Each of these sections is commanded by a Lieutenant.

The Detective Bureau is commanded by Lieutenant Barry Young.

Patrol Operations are commanded by Lieutenant Francis Coppinger.

Site maintained by P.O. Oxmani Corona